Authors in my car…

I’ve been very fortunate to have associated with great Canadian authors. I drove many of them in my car over the years, to media appointments, to meet booksellers, and to attend events, so please indulge me while I remember…

W.O. Mitchell had me laughing uncontrollably,
Sheree Fitch and I shared a few menopausal tears and giddiness,
Linda Granfield gave me the eyes to see what beautiful scenery lies south of Calgary on the Longview Road, when she hollered, “Stop the car!” so she could take pictures of the mountains,
Betty Jane Hegerat discussed my own writing with me, offering me a critique and suggestions for a piece she had read,
Bob Stallworthy rescued me from a “stuck” situation,
Deborah Miller kept the conversation lively and interesting all the way to Lacombe and back,
Hazel Hutchins was my “date” for the WGA conference last year, and we drove to Edmonton together to attend the awards dinner,
Matt Cohen told me I was his wife’s favourite sales rep,
Barry Lopez was very gracious and completely lived up to the high quality of his writing, which I have always loved,
Jack Webster was the only author I ever allowed to smoke in my car, because he was so desperate after flying in from Vancouver – plus he was a very nice man,
Stephen Heighton dissected the Fernie Writers’ Conference with me on the drive back to Calgary, and left his barefoot imprints in the dust on the dashboard, (and I still have yet to clean the interior)
Jowi Taylor brought along his beautiful guitar, Voyageur, and we talked about music for two entire days!
Lisa McGonigle provided lots of ski-bum stories told in a beautiful Irish accent,
Darcie Friesen Hossack, my very best internet friend, met me for only the second time in the five years we’ve “known” each other, and was a good sport about getting out of bed at the unusual and ungodly hour of 9 a.m. so we could make it to Lethbridge in time for an interview, (and then there was that trip to Canmore and Banff with Vicky…)
and Robert Kroetsch, whom I picked up from the Cranbrook Airport and drove to Fernie for the Writers’ Conference last summer, never allowed our conversation to lag over that entire hour-long trip, and who was most interested in hearing about my own writing!

There have been more, and some I have chosen to forget, but for the most part, I haven’t driven many authors around in my car who I didn’t like! Thanks for these memories.

5 responses

  1. Loved this post!

    A couple of names I will add to my reading list.

    And the weekend you had both Robert K. and Steve H. (separately) in your car was the weekend that, with Steve’s full blessing, RPK became my new literary crush.

    1. Ha! Yes! Maybe that’s who I should list next – Literary crushes I have met…

  2. LIAR!!! 6:45am. That’s the unsaintly hour I saw so we could be IN Lethbridge BY 10:30. You are bratsy, you are, Susan Toy. Although the spirit of the lie is the truth 😉

    Early bird documentation: http://whatlooksin.wordpress.com/2010/10/26/mennonites-dont-dance-on-the-road-day-5/

    1. Well, it sure seemed like it was 9 a.m. I know I’d already been up for hours in anticipation…

    2. I was fortunate to be with you for Barry Lopez

      thank you Sue we shared this agin not so long ago

      well done good memeories

