Baking in Bequia 6

Dennis offered to build up the fire in the pizza oven this morning so that I could bake wood-fired bagels. These kind of became my signature baked good, and I developed the recipe I now use from, and once again, Baking With Julia. over a number of years. The secret has been in the addition of gluten powder – a tsp. per cup of flour was what I was told to try, and that always seemed to get the best results for a good and chewy, but not tough, bagel. This time, however, I discovered that I ran out of a seemingly lifetime supply of gluten that had always been in the pantry. So this baking session will be an experiment to see if these bagels will be as good as what I used to produce.

And I have to brag – at one time, when I was trying to make a business of the baking, I was selling my bagels to a small hotel on Mustique that caters to many famous guests and some of the equally famous home owners. I know that my bagels have been eaten and enjoyed by the crew working on one of Tommy Hilfiger’s photo shoots (the hotel ordered 22 dozen for that week alone) and by Felix Dennis. If you don’t know that name, just wait for the movie Hippie Hippie Shake to be released later this year. Bagel-baker to the stars – for a brief moment in time, at least.

Today the music is Simon & Garfunkel’s Greatest Hits, and I don’t know why, but just felt like that. Also felt like Paul Simon’s Still Crazy After All These Years.

I’m going to begin reading Dirt Music by Tim Winton today, because he is a brilliant writer, and Annie V. and I were talking about him on the way to the Calgary airport, and about the CD of Dirt Music based on this book that she had in the car.

And here they are – 32 bagels.

And they’ll be medicine for Mr. Cantina who has been feeling poorly these past few days, although he’s managed to rally so we could be invited over for brunch and a swim tomorrow. Hooray!

One response

  1. I need you to teach me to bagel! And I need someone to get on the treadmill for me after all the cream cheese and lox.

