More Than 2-Raisin Bread for Rodger

Not long after I arrived on Bequia this time, our neighbour, Rodger, had a special request: Would I make him raisin bread that had more than just two rainsins in each loaf? He said he’d been buying the local bread in town, but was disappointed with the miserly amount of raisins included. I told him I knew of just the recipe for that, but needed to contact the Darcemeister for it, as she had published it earlier in a food column. When I made this bread that first time, we had Rose and her crew here at the house working for a few days to varnish all the railings on the verandah. The smell of cinnamon and baking bread near drove the crew nuts, so when I offered to share they knocked off one entire loaf in about 10 minutes. All agreed with Dennis and me that it was the best Raisin Bread they’d ever had. What’s not to like, though, about home baked bread fresh out of the oven?

When I asked Darcie for the recipe again the other day, because I had left my printed copy in Calgary, she couldn’t remember how long ago it was that she’d published that particular column. It must have been at least two years, I figured, because it was before I moved back to Calgary again. Turns out it was four years ago, when we were still both enrolled in the Humber programme. Time flies! And I’ve only ever made this recipe that one time. I have a feeling that if Rodger loves these loaves as much as Rose’s crew did that day, I’ll be baking many more for him to store in his freezer before I leave here in a couple of weeks.


And, just to make sure I haven’t lost my touch, I also baked Papo-secos, Portuguese crusty buns (first time I’ve tried this recipe), to go with the Marinated Barbecued Sardines (Ballyhoo fillets, really) and Caldo Verde, or Portuguese Soup with Sausage and Greens. Unfortunately, I picked the hottest day here since I arrived to be doing all this baking and soup-serving. We still haven’t fired up the Pizza Oven yet during this trip, either. I think it’s about time for that, if only to keep the house a bit cooler than it is right now!

**Change in Menu**

Dennis got a call that there was fish for sale in the harbour, so he and Dave raced down and bought 25-pounds of Kingfish…

which brought home three of the fours cats. They love Sashimi, fresh off the cutting board!

5 responses

  1. Rodger of the raisin bread blog

    Am I lucky or what! – to have Sue as my neighbor. I was going to exercise my self control and went to bed ‘without’ to await the next day to enjoy my treat. However, I dreamed of said raisin bread and about 10:00 yielded. I cut myself a giant slice, toasted it, and slathered with butter — life doesn’t get any better than that, do it?

    1. Rodger! I’m taking some of the credit for that 😉

      Darcie (originator of lauded recipe)

  2. […] Cinnamon Raisin Bread April 9, 2010 Filed under: breads and baked things — whatlooksin @ 11:14 pm You don’t have to take my word that this recipe makes a fabulous loaf. Take Susan’s! […]

  3. Lookit the lucky kitties! Kingfish instead of kibbles tonight 🙂

  4. Okay, I’m inspired. Time to make my own cinnamon raisin bread again. Thanks for reminding me about the recipe! And I’m glad it was enjoyed 🙂

