U of A Press, you rock!

When I arrived in Edmonton on Friday, I immediately drove to the campus for a visit with my pals at Ring House, the home of the University of Alberta Press. Cathie and Jeff made me feel right at home immediately, with the offer of a cup of coffee and a good catch-up chat. They gave me copies of their three new poetry collections, written by Robert Kroetsch, Alice Major and rob mclennan, that are being released this season. Beautifully designed, every one of them! But don’t take my word for it… Have a look at their blog – http://holeinthebucket.wordpress.com/2010/02/03/poetry-publishing-hat-trick-at-uap/ – and the many pictures included.

As well, I listened to part one of Ken Davis’ interview with Robert Kroetsch this afternoon on Bookmark (archived at http://www.ckua.com). Very, very good!

But the best part of my trip to Edmonton was the conference I attended, where I met both Robert Kroetsch and Alice Major, as well as Jack Hodgins, had a chance to talk with Aritha (of course!) and many more authors, publishers and book people. More about that conference in a future post. I’m still trying to sift through the sensory overload of the last two days. I feel as though I’m on a perpetual book-high, and never want to come down!

One response

  1. That be the best kind of high there is…!

