Pizza Oven

One of the best things about being back on Bequia is that I get to savour pizza baked in the oven that Dennis built. Yum! The smell of burning wood in the early afternoon signals that we’re in for a treat. Add a few friends, some alcohol, lobster, shrimp, chorizo and an assortment of cheeses to top the dough and, voila! Exceptionally fine pizza! The best I’ve ever tasted, in fact, although I could be a bit biased.

And the best part is that the baking and cooking doesn’t end when the last pizza comes out on the peel. This morning, I’ve been preparing dough for Italian loaves and baguettes that are just about ready to go into the oven. The temperature is still at 450F this morning. Then Portuguese Buns for Mr. McAnderson will be baked this afternoon, a roast leg of lamb for dinner tonight, and beans with pork hocks will go in tomorrow morning to slow cook most of the day, once the temperature has gone down to a manageable 250F. More pictures tomorrow. Excuse me – I have a rising dough alert!

One response

  1. darcie friesen hossack

    Now you’re just being mean šŸ˜‰

