Back on Bequia!

After what now feels to have been a whirlwind 7-week visit to Canada, I’m settled back on Bequia – for the time being …

I have a lot of thinking to do, plans and decisions to make, books to read, a novel to continue promoting. Oh, and a second novel to finish writing and edit. Enough to keep me “plenty busy,” as they say here. I’ve been formulating ideas about setting up an ePublishing company and publish the writing of other authors, relaunching an online writing contest, figuring out ways to transplant my author promotion business to Ontario, where I would now like to spend half of each year. And I have a couple of new schemes up my sleeve that I’d like to be able to develop. The beauty of all this is that *most* of what I hope to be doing in the future can be dealt with online, so it could be done from virtually anywhere in the world! Including Bequia. And I can still be my own boss. We’ll see where all this may lead over the coming months.

In the meantime, I’m still acclimatising myself to being back on the island. To my friends in Minden – if it’s any consolation, while we do not have blackflies, we are plagued at the moment by mosquitoes and no-see-ums. And for the Calgary peeps – it’s raining here, too, and it’s also terribly humid. I hate it when washing dishes causes me to sweat!

Fortunately, we’ve been invited over to Pammy’s Swimming Hole in Friendship today and have been promised all sorts of liquid refreshments. For our part, we’ll be packing the fixings for pan pizzas. Should be a fun way to pass the afternoon, even if it rains.

Thanks again to all my Canadian friends who made my stay in Canada so enjoyable! And to the many new friends who opened up their homes to me and made me feel totally welcome, as though we had known each other forever, and not just through a Facebook connection – thank you very much!

But, unfortunately, I didn’t buy a memory card for my new camera until after I had arrived in Toronto, so I don’t have many photos from my trip to post. For now, here’s the iconic photo of the Leuty Lifeguard Station by the boardwalk in Toronto’s Beach. I always have to break in a new camera with a picture of this!

IMG_0005

6 responses

  1. I miss you already, my friend, still haven’t gone to the show! Big hugs to you both – I love your optimism and courage. xoxoxSuse

    1. Thanks, Suse! Sorry I didn’t get to see enough of you while I was there.

  2. Glad to hear you are back safe and sound! I’m eagerly anticipating novel #2, and your new business ideas! Enjoy Pammy’s Swimming Hole and your pizzas!

    1. Sorry I didn’t get to see you when I was in Calgary, Carrie. Maybe next time …

  3. What? No Canadian summer? You’ve really surprised me! I guess I’ll seek consolation in the fact that I am not the only Canuck who has stayed put in (or returned to) the tropics for the finest time of the year up north. ;)

    1. Actually, it’s so untouristy on Bequia during the summer, and the weather is usually pretty darn good, that spending July and August here is one of those best-kept secret about the place. No traffic, no high humidity, no smog … no people on any of the beaches. Shhhhh!

Chris The Story Reading Ape's New (to me) Authors Blog

(9 out of 10 Vets recommend it, the 10th is seriously reconsidering his first response, while he recuperates from his unfortunate 'accident')

Knite Writes

The Official Blog of Therin Knite || Sci-Fi Author

Mudpile Wood

where you can get the best sandwishes and fairy cakes

Dancing With The MS MonSter

Laughing in the face of multiple sclerosis

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,120 other followers

