Have you read “Island in the Clouds”?

I wanted to get a sense of the number of people who have actually read my novel, Island in the Clouds, so I have created a separate page, Poll: Have you read “Island in the Clouds”?, on this blog that allows you to “vote” and tell me if you’ve a) read the book, b) have read and are recommending the book to other readers, and c) have not yet read the book but plan to do so. You may also wish to make comments about Island in the Clouds below the poll.

I want to hear from you! Whether you read it in manuscript version or pre-purchased and financially supported the print publication, purchased either the eBook or print versions online or from a bookstore (or directly from me), received a comp or publicity copy or borrowed a friend’s copy, won an eBook or a print copy in a contest, borrowed a print copy from the library, or found a copy that was left in the Book Exchange section of several Calgary Co-op stores – whatever way you discovered Island in the Clouds I’d like you to tell me if you’ve read it.

Thank you for participating in this quasi-scientific attempt to get a “reading” on how well my novel is actually doing out there in the world. I encourage you to share this link to the poll with others who you know have read Island in the Clouds. (And note that you may only vote once from your IP address. As much as I appreciate your enthusiasm, please do not try to skew the vote. I’m interested in receiving honest results! Oh, and just so you know, I am not allowed to vote.)

You see, I have this theory … I would like to begin assessing a book’s success not by the number of copies that have sold, but by the number of readers who have read and enjoyed it. More of a “Most Read” category rather than a “Bestseller” list. I figured I might as well test this theory first with my own book!

8 responses

  1. Devoured it in an evening!

  2. Hi Susan, I read your book on my flight to Barcelona last year from Toronto. Enjoyed it.

  3. It was a joy to edit and a joy to read :)

    1. :) BEST editor in the world!!

  4. Susan, thanks for the fun read. Despite the dead bodies, I’m terribly drawn to this fantastic island. I’ve passed your book along to a bookclub here in Lacombe. They’ll love it!

    1. Please tell the book club I’m available to make a Skype visit! :)

  5. I won your book in a contest that my friend Gwen had on her blog. Loved it!! She’s from Dominica and I’m from Fredericton, New Brunswick so it seems like your book has certainly become an international sensation!

  6. Penny & Chris Stathonikos

    Both of us have read the book and it was left on a river cruise boat in France so perhaps someone there has enjoyed it as well!

Leona's Blog of Shadows

Book reviews and writing related stuff

Quinn's Books

Where Great Books meet Great Minds

graemecummingdotnet

A great WordPress.com site

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,888 other followers

